Teachers were more valued and appreciated in the past more than today or not?

From the past to the present, teachers and instructors have been an essential asset of every society. In this regard, the fact that how much people value them is a necessary question of every community. Some people believe that teachers are more valued by their people and society. On the other hand, others believe that teachers were more valued in the past compared to the present time. I, personally, concur with the former group for two main reasons on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs. First, I believe that due to the meteoric growth of the Internet, people do not receive enough respect and value compared to the past. In this line of thought, in the past, teachers were the only source of information, so society was much more dependent on them to teach students and solve their problems. On the contrary, in the Internet era, acquiring knowledge is as easy as just clicking on the mouse and Googling. This dramatic change that has happened in this period of time has decreased the dependency of society and people on the teachers, so they are not valued and appreciated compared to the past. As an example, my father said that when he was a first-year student, they were completely dependent on their teachers because there were not enough books or source of knowledge there. Therefore their teacher was a critical and precious person not only for students but also for all the people of that city. On the other hand, in today's era, we cannot be the witness of such gratitude to the teacher because gaining information for students and other people of societies is completely easy. Second, I think that due to the increasing number of teachers, they are not valued compared to the past. In this regard, in the last decades, most of the people were farmers, or they had other handy jobs, so finding someone who teaches to their students was a complex process. Therefore, because teachers were unsubstitutable, they were received much more respect compared to the instructors in the present time. In this matter, in the modern era, the total number of educated peoples has increased dramatically, so inevitably the total number of teachers has increased too. When the total number of teachers increased, they would not receive enough value and appreciation compared to the people in the past. It is crystal clear that when we have a large number of the huge amount of something, we do not appreciate it enough because we may believe that we can find a maybe better substitute for their teachers. To sum up, although some people think that teachers receive more value and appreciation compared to the past. I completely disagree with this idea belief that teachers gained more value and respect in the past not only were they the only source of knowledge but also there are a few numbers of them in each society.