Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be the death of grammar and spelling.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is the colossal upsurge in the number of people using online texting slang while communicating. Some believe that this will only lead to a myriad of concerns related to one's grammatical and spelling accuracy. However, I believe that excess use of short forms might cause one to forget the actual spelling as well as dearth of grammar and I will explain why in this essay. To begin with, in today's era, people are heavily relied on mobile phones and online chatting platforms to communicate with each other. Thus, influenced towards use of excessive texting slang which basically are short forms for certain words. Moreover, children frequently tend to communicate with their peers online using these short words and then forget the actual spelling of the words, incapable of remembering due lack of usage. According to a recent survey at the Latrobe Melbourne school, teachers found out that 65% of the students score poor in exam as they write in texting language. Resulting to poor vocabulary. Furthermore, constant online chatting and use of basic or short words could lead to grammatical inaccuracies. Subsequently, during rush hours at work plethora of individuals text amongst themselves skimming words to quickly get a response and finish their task. Consequently, making grammatical errors while drafting emails to clients or customers. Although, there are certain inbuilt functions to autocorrect grammar or words on the contrary, this has not only deteriorated people's ability to confidently write but also has caused hindrance in verbal communication. For instance, if a salesperson is not confident about his grammar, he might not crack the deal due to lack of confidence in speaking. To conclude, there is an incremental inclination observed in the varying degree of people communicating using slang. Albeit they feel it's the need of the hour, undoubtedly its leading them towards diminishing their language skills.