Combat sports should be banned because deaths inside the ring can be completely avoided. To what extent

When we hear the word “boxing”, the imagery flashing in front of our eyes is of bloody faces, rage and raw human aggression. The brutal sport of showing off brute force is the sport called boxing. In my opinion, in a world where compassion is a luxury and violence is the thorn of existence, the legality of boxing is simply preposterous. Historically, boxing was mainly famous at the time when duels were of common practice. Actually, it was a matter of showing off men’s skills, to mend their bruised egos or to simply channel their rage. Since then, duels have become illegal. But it’s quite a shock that boxing which requires the same mentality to be channeled - is still so popular. Moreover, it’s the objective of a player to hurt his opponent in the worst way possible to the extent of them not being able to get up for 10 seconds straight. Even the people in the audience relish in the scenario of blood and gore. The moral fallacies of this cannot even cover how hazardous it is for the lives of the players. The players are attacked so badly that they sometimes have to get immediately hospitalised and some even face death or face longtime health damages. For example, one of the earliest memories from a news I watched is of one of the most famous boxers of the world Mohammad Ali facing almost 29, 000 blows to his head which caused neurological damage afterwards in his life. Seeing such a strong player facing such cruel effects of the game, it really pushed me to believe in it being banned. On the contrary, the sport advertises people to be strong, fit and keep themselves healthy to the extent of it being a form of a self defence skill. To put it critically, various others sports can turn nasty as well, for instance, rugby or ice hockey. So to only ban boxing for the sole reason of aggression is just undeserving hate on the sport. Finally, no one has ever forced anyone to take part in it -it’s completely their own choice. To conclude, even though boxing is a dangerous game, the casualties of this can be lowered. Steps can be taken to establish proper rule following during the game, presence of emergency medic team and post-game checkup for the safety of the players.