Coffee. Write at least 250 words

Coffee is, and always will be, one of the most popular beverages to ever exist. It is rightly said that people are, as time passes, becoming more dependent on this grain. Even if some researchers point out the benefits this drink might have in people’s health and in the economy, exacerbating this component can bring disadvantages. To begin with, it first appeared in Ethiopia when the seed was used to stimulate goats in long travels. However, it was in Yemen that the famous component came to shine, which led to coffee being cultivated in Islamic monasteries, where monks drank the resulting infusion of the fruit. Further, until the 18th century, this product was primarily monopolized by the Arabs, due to the fact that they had the habit to market the grain already toasted. In consequence, the buyer could not plant the seed to try and have his or her own production. In Brazil, the first seedlings were planted in Pará. Yet, the production did not stay in only one state. It was in Rio de Janeiro that systematic cultivation was developed at the beginning of 1760. Nevertheless, the system dynamic changed when the production arrived in São Paulo, with new technologies that were favourable to expand the planting. It took a short period of time for this grain to be rooted in the Southeast, which acquired investments in infrastructure, modernization of urban centres, banks, and new forms of transports that replaced what was done before by animals. Difficulties began to increase when the country changed its political structure and became a Republic. Aggravation in the situation occurred when the coffee price decreased in the international market, which led to the famous policy called Café com Leite. However, when Getulio Vargas assumed the presidency, some established rules in the program were revaluated. Thus, he switched tactics and bought the coffee in Mil Réis instead of paying the producers in pounds. Therefore, the government had in possession a stock of grains that greatly surpassed the buyers’ capacity. The found solution was to burn the product in excess, which created international commotion but downturned the offer and upturned the coffee price. It can not be denied that the solution brought benefits to Brazil. Yet, the producers did not have guarantees about the values of their material, and instead of buying new lands to expand their production; they invested in machines and factories. Therefore, this adjustment contributed to the industrialization process in Brazil. Nowadays, the country is one of the most profitable when it comes to coffee, often being categorized as the major exporter in the world. While being of extreme importance to the economy, when it comes to personal consumption, moderation is the key. Coffee has the power to prevent some diseases and improve people’s metabolism, making the process of burning calories faster. Further, some researches show that this tiny component is able to strength the memory and heart, preventing cardiac insufficiency in at most 11%. Despite its countless benefits, consuming more than the recommended quantity can be disadvantageous. If a person is prone to depression and anxiety, caution is the best to follow due to the possibility of enhancing nervous symptoms. Moreover, drinking more than necessary can also cause tremors in some body parts and increase the possibility of headaches. Thus, staying in the limit dosage is recommended for those who do not know how to spend a day without this miracle fruit. In conclusion, coffee is a major player for the economy to thrive. Howbeit, it can bring downsides if a country is solely focused on this material. While most people drink this infused beverage for pleasure, the benefits it can bring shall not be forgotten. Even with various advantages, moderation should always be kept in mind in order to prevent side effects.