City planners’ new designs include setting up schools, markets and commercial places (like office) in different areas of the city. Do you think it will help the city dwellers?

We live in the age when urban areas are developing extremely rapidly and the quality of the new cities is also on the rise. It can be seen, that significant amount of social infrastructure (like shopping centers, schools, universities, etc. ) is included on design plans of the today cities. This essay will figure out how this trend will influence on the local citizens of such places. I personally believe, that this development has a positive meaning and my reason will be given in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the construction of new apartment blocks with all required infrastructure can help to improve ecology. We can see that, individuals who live in traditional suburbs usually travel too much, because there are not enough universities, schools, supermarkets and hospitals in these places. This means higher level of usage of of personal vehicles or public transport, when cars produce emissions and pollute air. However, the opportunity to reach all needed services by step or bisycle can help to reduce the number of individual cars and to make the ecological situation better. Furthermore, the including of offices, educational services, and entertainment facilities in the new cities is expected to decrease the number of traffic jams in the future. It should be mentioned, that the lack of internal infrastructure will force people to travel to other parts of the city for work, studies or shopping and it will create additional traffic load in existing region. For instance, the intensive erection of new apartment blocks without all required infrastructure in Leningradskaya Oblast caused considerable traffic jams in Saint-Petersburg. In conclusion, the building of shopping malls, schools, offices and other facilities for future citizens can help to avoid problems with traffic and to decline the negative impact on the environment.