Citizen should start wearing their national costumes every day to show pride and patriotism to their country.

It is considered that people should take their pride in terms of wearing national dress every day. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that costumes are the only one for us to show our nationalism. First, traditional costumes are overrated. Wearing it preserves a country's heritage and educate people about their history. We dress up while we’re at home, at work, travelling and when attending a special occasion. For instance, when there’s a universal pageant, whoever represented the Philippines will wear the national costume provided by a well-known designer from its own country. The materials used are from the parts of the nation and with this we take our own honor. Second, the clothing style and fashion sense of the modern-era have been influenced by their native ancestors. We live in a society where people tend to wear whatever they want. What is shown by the media on television, fashion show, etc. conforms their way of dressing. For example, H&M is a store of clothes with different variation. It is originated from Sweden. Buying it doesn’t show any patriotism because you just wanted to have one. To conclude, I strongly believe that showing your devotion or loyalism to one’s country is not only dressing up.