Choose an example of a visual art form (a painting, a photograph, a piece of sculpture) and evaluate it using aesthetic criteria. (400 – 500 words)

"Girl with a pearl earring" is an oil painting painted by a Dutch Golden Age painter, Johannes Vermeer, in the early 1660s. Not only is it evaluated as one of his most well-known works, but it is also a chef-d'oeuvre in the world owing to many aesthetic criteria as follows. First of all, the composition of "Girl with a pearl earring is delightfully simple. However, whether by Vermeer's conscious design or not, a golden spiral overlaid onto this painting emphasizes how this seemingly simple portrait is also a complex geometric composition. The unusual posture of the young woman - whose head is turned over her shoulder to gaze at a painter positioned almost behind her - creates a line of tension that begins around her eyes and revolves over the top of her head, and down through her headscarf. The dark, empty background creates blocks of rectangular space that harken to the golden ratio as well. Furthermore, the pleasing colour scheme also contributes to the beauty of this painting. The colours range from very dark golden-brown to very soft, light blues. The subject of the work-a beautiful and seemingly young woman, with dark eyes and vibrantly red lips, wearing a gold and blue turban, a yellow ocher garment, and a white blouse-has been painted at a certain angle and in certain lighting to put emphasis on certain parts of her face and other objects in the scene. Her pale skin contrasts deeply with the dark, almost pitch-black background, and the shadows cast by the light source give her face an angular quality and invoke a mysterious sense of curiosity in the mind. Artists sometimes use a black background to enhance the feeling of a three-dimensional subject, and Vermeer did just that. If it were a white background, the girl would not stand out quite so much. Also, the use of blue and yellow, which is one of Vermeer’s key characteristics, on the subject brings serenity to this picture even though the rest of it is slightly disturbing. Last but not least, the painter had successfully expressed the glamour of "Girl with a pearl earring" by using the light element. Like many other paintings in the Baroque Age, the light was a tool used to create shadows and articulate features of the main subject. One of the most distinctive portions of this image is the girl’s face. The look she is giving is crucial to how one analyzes the message. However, it is not only the look; it is the brightness cast on her face. There is a very strong sense of light in this image. The source seems to be coming from the left as the angled side of her body is illuminated and the backside facing the opposite way is dark-almost black. The first thing that most viewers would notice about this painting would be the girl’s face because of the light on it. In a nutshell, it is no doubt to call "Girl with a pearl earring" a masterpiece because of the perfect combination of the three major aesthetic elements, which are composition, colour and light. I would recommend this to everyone, especially to those having an intense passion for art.