Children who commit crimes should be punished equally to adults.

It is common for supporters of the notion to resemble punishment between juveniles and adults committing crimes by arguing that this can decline the rate of crime. Nowadays, there is a higher concentration of young offenders, which demonstrates that they possibly act regardless of the consequences and become fearless. Therefore, imposing appropriate punishments can pose a threat to underage convicts and prevent them from conducting illegal actions again. For instance, in Brazil, applying harsh sentences to adolescents may significantly decline the rate of crime, which has been a serious problem in recent years. However, it could be difficult for society to accept the equivalent punishment for its unfairness and mercilessness. I am convinced that children should be tried in different courts from that adults because they are not mature enough to make reasonable decisions. They can act impulsively and engage in risky behaviors, let alone being enticed without being aware of potential consequences. For instance, many studies in a range of cases have proved that there are not enough moral capabilities in juvenile delinquents to control emotions and aggression, so they lacked the necessary conditions to be trial defendants. In addition, when having a second chance and with the help of others, these young offenders can have an opportunity to rehabilitate after committing crimes. Supposedly, they might choose the right path in the future and re-enter as a part of normal society.