Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children. Give reason and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Television is an appliance that is found in every home nowadays, and it has a strong impact on our children’s character building. If it is used wisely, it will help them in developing their skills and in learning new things. On the other hand, the unsupervised miss use of television can harm the children mentally and socially. Watching television helps children in developing their linguistic and artistic skills, especially at the early stages of school. Up to a point, we can say that television teach children to read and write different languages. For instance, young toddlers memorize the English alphabets in the form of a funny simple song. They not only learn the sound of the alphabets but also they learn the alphabetic shapes and they might be able to even write it, through watching the animated letters displayed with the song. Besides, children learn a lot of handicrafts from the television. It sometimes teaches them drawing, coloring and a lot of artistic information. Moreover, children can see different habitats and cultures that they might not be exposed to in their real lives. Programs and TV shows like national geographic and animal planet, give the children the opportunity to see different animals and creatures that they have never seen. In addition to, the television movies of different countries, shows the children that the globe contains a variety of different places with different climates, weather and culture. They get to know that there are forests, deserts, cities and rural areas, where each part has its own distinct societies, languages and behavior. Thus, one might consider the television as a way of enhancing the children’s imagination. On the other hand, the unsupervised, miss use of television may harm the children socially and mentally. Children who spend a lot of time in front of the television are more susceptible to developing autism than children who spend less time. Therefore, medical society recommended a daily screen time limit for each age group, and parents should follow these recommendations for the sake of their children’s mental health. Besides, too much time spent watching television, decrease the child’s social interaction which encourage him to be isolated. This might disturb his progress in acquiring social skills. Another drawback for the unsupervised use of television, is the violent content that is displayed for the adults, when children are exposed to this content, they sometimes become violent and aggressive, and sometimes they feel insecure and unconfident. All in all, television has its advantages as well as its drawbacks. To make the best out of the television, it is recommended that parents regulate the television watching time, and to supervise the content being watched by their children.