CHILDREN TODAY SPEND MORE TIME WATCHING TELEVISION THAN THEY DID IN THE PAST. DESCRIBE SOME OF THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF TELEVISION FOR children

The advent of modern era has brought many changes in the life of people specially children. One of the gadget that has evolved and gain importance over the years is television. It has become the part and parcel of everyday life. Children these days are more fond of watching it than in the past. On one hand, it provides a source of knowledge and entertainment while on the other hand it creates health issues along with compromising many activities of daily routine. The most important advantage which the television provides to children is the education it delivers on different aspects. This includes the news on current affairs from all over the world which keeps them aware on geo-political conditions of the countries and broaden their minds. Similarly, it helps in understanding the historical and cultural heritage of the globe. It also provides a source of entertainment which includes game shows, plays, movies and cartoons that explains life lessons in their own unique ways. However, there is always a dark side of carrying out any activity in excess than necessary. In case of television, excessive use of it can create negative impact on eyesight. The rays discharge from the television weakens the visual ability with the passage of time. Consequently, the physical activity of a child also decreases as he is not moving a lot or utilizing his time in playing sports which has adverse effect on his body. In order to summarize, it can be said that the watching television has both the positive and negative impacts on children. However, optimizing its use and creating a balance in habits can definitely be fruitful for children to bring success in every walk of their life.