Advantages & disadvantages of working in a company

Owing a job has had fundamental importance since old times; however, a dilemma has been aroused in recent years: Is it better to work as an employee or establish your own business? Despite the merits of having your own business, it could lead to a lot of worries. This would render some people to prefer working for an organization rather than being self-employed; nonetheless, I am inclined to think that employment in a company is accompanied by both bright sides and dark sides. This essay attempts to deal with both of these aspects. Let's start by looking at the advantages of being an employee. One of the positives is that you will have a secure monthly payment without a feeling of apprehension about the market condition. Secondly, we can take advantage of being a member of a company. For instance, you can attend meetings, excel in communication and leadership skills, win a promotion, receive a retirement pension, and utilize your company’s facilities like gyms, pools, etc. Turning to the other side of the argument, one of the major drawbacks of employment in a corporation is that you are under the direct supervision of a manager. To elaborate, you would be assessed in various aspects, including working efficiency, your annual leave, being in line with the company’s rules, and so on. Therefore, low-quality work and a breach of professional duty could have serious consequences like suspension or job loss. Moreover, a competitive working environment could impose a burden on your mental health, which may lead to either depression or anger. All in all, in spite of the fact that self-employment is tempting in many ways, it could have financial and stress-related setbacks. The other side of the coin is working in a company, which has both pluses and minuses. Personally, I tend to think the advantages of a fixed monthly wage, retirement pension, etc outweigh the disadvantages.