Children should never be put in prison with adults no matter how serious their crime.

In most of the cases, there is a huge difference between a crime committed by a child and a crime committed by an adult. Irrespective of how serious the crime is, a child should not be sent to the same prison as adults. Usually a crime committed by an adult has a motive such as revenge, Gang wars etc, but a crime committed by a child is usually not entirely their fault, might be someone influenced them or their emotions got the better of them or they didn’t know any better etc. In the case of adults, they would be perfectly aware of the choices they made and to pay the penance for those choices a normal prison would be fine. But in case of a child they might not be completely aware of the consequences for their choices. If such children are sent to the same prison as that of the adults, that might be a bad influence for them, spending time with some criminals with no room for improvement of their behaviour. But if such children are kept in separate prisons such juvenile centres, where they are schooled and given counselling sessions of what I’d wrong and what is right, this might be their chance to see their mistakes. This is why adults and children should not be kept in the same prison no matter how serious the crime is. Although some might argue that, depending on the crime committed a child can be sent to the same prison as adults. If the crime was committed too seriously and with the right motive, they might argue that such a child can never be changed and should be punished the same as an adult. I agree with the given statement up to a great extent, because even though the crime was serious, there might always be a chance for a child to improve at a young age itself.