Children respect their elders less than they were used to do earlier. Reasons and solutions

In today’s sophisticated era, kids give less respect to their elders as compared to the bygone times when they were accustomed to give more respect to their elders. Myriad countries are posing this problem these days as they suffer through it. This essay sheds light on the causes behind this issue and brings some remedies to tackle it. First and foremost reason behind this is a shift happened during last few years in which families became nuclear from joint. Earlier, three to four generations were used to live together where people could be seen giving respect to their elders and seniors and there was no need to teach your children about respecting their elders as this feature was growing naturally in the coming generations. Secondly, parents of modern era think that becoming a friend of your juvenile will help your child to grow better as they will be able to share their problems with parents without any hesitations, which ultimately reduces the respect children have for their parents. By becoming friends, children start to share a different comfort zone with their parents and they forget to respect them the way they were doing it earlier. Presenting some utmost important solutions, predominantly, joint families are the best ever solution for this issue. When children live with their two or three elder generations, they certainly learn to respect them as they grow in such environment where their parents respect their elders too. Practical examples can rejuvenate this hearty respect for elders. Besides this, dictating stories of parents’ own childhood can help to curb this problem as children follow practical examples most of the time. After listening to the real-life anecdotes of their parents, where they were used to give much respect to their elders encompassing true emotions of love, children inevitably will be glad to do the same. To recapitulate, it can be said that there are some serious reasons behind reduction of respect for elders in children’s eyes which can be regained by putting some efforts. Hopefully, we will be able to see the next generation possessing more respect and love for their elders which ultimately is going to help them gather more blessings from elders.