Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

It is believed that, nowadays, while children prefer watching television to reading a book as a way of learning, the book plays an irreplaceable role in offering children a much better education. Taking into consideration the amount of knowledge television can transmit to a child and its alluring presentation, I completely disagree with this statement. Firstly, not only can television entertain children with hilarious cartoons or catchy, funny children’s songs, it has plenty of educational programs like Discovery Channel, National Geographic, which is accessible to children at a young age. Those programmes expose children to different parts of the world, widen their horizons of imagination, trigger their curiosity and enhance their knowledge about the surrounding world, which later in their life will catalyse their aspirations for studying and equip them with basic knowledge for their education when they grow up. By contrast, books, with their limited availability within children’s reach, fail to offer such a wide range of knowledge if adults do not store a large number of books at home. Secondly, watching television is much more fun than reading a book. TV programmes are well edited with vivid and colorful illustration, genuine and thrilling footage, and captivating sound or voice, whereas books are full of words, boring and sometimes difficult to follow for young children because there are a lot of terms they cannot understand without their parents’ assistance, which is not often in today’s world when most parents are busy with their jobs. Therefore, television is obviously a useful learning tool for children early in their age to self-study without getting bored. In conclusion, although some may express concern about the inability of television to well educate a child compared to books, I strongly believe that television is an informative and fun tool for children to learn things on their own from a young age when they are yet to read well.