Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

Many People hold a viewpoint that children are spending more time watching T. V these days, but it can never be equivalent to the books with respect to providing knowledge. I partially agree with this statement and I will be enlightening at the same to support my point of view. Firstly, I believe that nowadays School curriculum are structured in such a way that kids hardly get any free time to do any other thing then studying and extracurricular activities conducted in schools. For example – Many schools organize extra classes for self-defence, Drama or Art to name a few after regular classes. Secondly, when children get some free time they choose to play outside with their friends rather than staying indoors and watching TV. In addition to this, since kids these days are so busy with catching up to their schedule, if they watch television in their free time for a limited period, it adds to their knowledge and refresh their mind as well, however parents should always keep an eye on them as to which channel or programs they have subscribed to. Parents or elders should always make sure that programs accessed by children are educational or entertaining in a good way. Furthermore, nowadays there are many shows, which are especially directed to children. For example- Dora the explorer, while watching this show kids not only get entertained, but they also learn new vocabulary and it also help to build their geography knowledge. To recapitulate, Children has got a lot on their plate that they barely get any leisure time to watch Television and whenever they get some, Parents should always be around to make sure that they are not spending so much time in front of a T. V set. Also, young generation in the present era is far more well –educated and smarter than the kids in the past as the education system at present developed and enhanced so much. Needless to say, that books are the primary source of education which can never be replaced by an idiot box.