Children have more and more tests to do at school, sometimes starting at the age of five until eighteen. What are the pros and cons of making student do exams?

These days, children are obliged to take many tests at school from the age of five until eighteen, which sparks a heated argument. Some people think this is the best way for lecturers to assess pupils’ ability, while others believe taking too many exams tends to make students feel tired and stressed. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of making children do tests too often and try to draw some conclusions. To begin with, the positive aspects are presented. One of the major plus points of doing numerous exams is the fact that teachers can recognize the strong and weak points of their pupils. As a consequence, they might make necessary changes in the teaching method as well as the materials to help students improve their studying. For instance, several students had bad grades on the exam, the teachers might assign them simpler exercises and pay more attention to them. In addition, students can find themselves in a competitive environment, which undoubtedly motivates learners and urges them to study harder. Turning to the other side of the argument, there are some disadvantages to taking a huge number of tests. Firstly, this brings stress and anxiety to the students. The stress/pressure of performing well in an exam and the anxiety of failing an exam can make life very challenging for them. Secondly, they often focus more on memorization and ignore the concepts. They do achieve high scores, but the cost is the reduced knowledge because most students tend to forget what they have crammed for the exam after a few days. As a result, all of their efforts at school go down the drain. In conclusion, making children do too many exams could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked. Even though this causes children to feel pressured/pressurized and exhausted, teachers often rely on the exam results to measure students’ competence. Personally, I think lecturers should give learners games or quizzes to make the session more interesting while also consolidating knowledge.