More artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

Arts have been acknowledged as an impressively effective remedy to reduce anxiety and violence in the society. That is why artists have always been respected throughout the history. Some people input that most of artists have low income and must be supported by the government, otherwise, they might lose their job. This essay will discuss why the government should support the artists financially. Rulers have constantly tried to call on artists in order to inject their own commands in a more moderate way through the arts. In this matter, artists have always been in danger of become a tool in hands of politicians. This dramatically results in art losing its independence and become a spiritless mouth for the politics’ orders. History is full of artists who sold their arts and creativity and gave it up to please the rulers. This might had brough more fame to the artists, however, mostly caused in dropping the popularity of these artists. At the end, what is an artwork without its spirit? What is an artist without audience? This is why some people believe that by funding arts, government loosens the situation of artists in the society. Artworks, indeed, help us connect to our origins and soul. For some people, looking at paintings or listening to specific songs, works as a meditation, cleaning their mind and filling their heart with spirit of life and morals. Arts also are demonstrators of each nation’s culture. As art is a language from hearts to hearts, it is the most efficient way for introducing a country’s culture to the others; either through literature, paintings, or music. So it is important to save the arts and support the artists. This essay discussed both light and dark sides of supporting arts financially. Arguments over the necessity of funding for the arts or not, will probably remain heated in the future, however, in my opinion the government definitely is better off spending some of the country’s wealth to support artists.