Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are some of the negative effects of children watching a lot of television? Do you think young children should be allowed to watch television?

Television has become a major part in a child's daily activity in the last few decades, reflecting the ever-rising development of technology. Accordingly, children could spend hours on their favourite reality shows or cartoon movies; as a result, they forget their responsibilities as children as well as students. Although television has some drawbacks on children, I still believe that children should be permitted to watch television provided that their parents are present. Since the advent of television, this electronic has been developing and attracting more people, especially children, than it used to because of the varieties of modern shows nowadays. Consequently, children become more interested in cartoon movies or reality shows and spend more time on them than on their school assignments. They neglect their duties to study and perform well at school due to less interest in them. Furthermore, by ignoring their homework, it means that they do not try to make their parents proud of their grades, which will eventually impact their attitudes and respects for others in the future. However, even though television could affect children negatively, in my view, it still necessary for them to watch moderate amount of suitable movies and shows. Studies conducted by scientist in Europe has shown that appropriate content for children could actually improve their critical thinking and problem solving skills. Additionally, parental guidance is crucial for children whenever they watch television because parents or other family members could monitor the content of the shows and the amount of time that their children spent on television. Therefore, the children are still in control, and they will not neglect their school assignments for fun. In conclusion, television could be harmful for children's habits and attitudes if it is not used wisely. In contrast, if parents monitor their children activities on watching television, it could actually be beneficial for the children's skill in solving problems and thinking critically. Hence, I believe that children should be allowed to watch television in moderation.