Some people say that sports should not be encouraged at school, as it causes competition rather than cooperation among students. with this opinion?

INTRODUCTION Confucius said, “Competition is a fact of life. ” I believe school sports are essential to prepare children for adult life. By referring to team sports, the essay will show that a balance is indeed possible. When partaking in team sports like basketball, soccer, or volleyball, scholars have the opportunity to gain experience in what cooperation for the benefit of the team is like. For example, individual players may have their own ideas but have to adhere to the game plan to reach the objectives of the team as set out by the coach. At the same time, the individual players as a team are able to compete with other teams. This should teach them the benefits of not being selfish and to still have the desire and motivation to win. To be more specific, when the team wins, this can be just as rewarding as when an individual athlete is triumphant. In addition, even within the context of the objectives of the team and the game plan, individuals can excel by displaying specific skills. For example, in soccer, players like Pelé and Diego Maradona became legends because of their exceptional skills. However, at all times throughout their careers, they had the self-discipline to keep in mind what was best for the team as a whole. I could summarize by saying that team sports are one way of achieving a balance in teaching children cooperation as well as competition. In conclusion, we should note that school sports have a vital part to play in education