Children and Education in Sri Lanka now

My topic is here to elaborate the current situation in Sri Lanka with regard to children and education. In my opinion the level of education which our children receive compared to the other countries is in the lower level. I will justify my answers in the below paragraphs. There are around 20% of children out of the population in our country and out of that amount 17. 5% children belong to the poor rural areas. Balance children are around the cities. When you go through moreover on this, one could find that 3% of the children are upper middle class or middle class families. So the financial background and the access to the modern technologies and infrastructures are utmost difficult. Getting a computer or an internet connection is a luxury or, unaffordable burden as the current economic crisis. Most of the government owned schools in the rural areas lack computers and internet facilities. Demand to occupy a computer in the school time is high due to the pupils per computer ratio. the parents are also helpless on this matter and seeks the aid of the relevant authorities. In the Sabaragamuva province there are only 13 computer labs for all the 120 schools. The context of the education which our children receive are somewhat outdated and it should be revised and should be allowed on research basis. Where the student learn from the environment, go out and find facts and details through experience. The grade five students are still learning the subjects that are being followed since 1995. I would suggest that these grassroot level issues should be escalated to the higher management and raise the level of our school syllabus and make more cash flows to the schools itself, So that they could enhance the levels of learning. Public schools should be given more infrastructure and resources.