Childhood overweight is becoming a pressing issue. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons and the effects of this problem. I will also conclude with some solutions to mitigate this problem.

Childhood overweight is becoming a pressing issue. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons and the effects of this problem. I will also conclude with some solutions to mitigate this problem. To begin with, there are reasons why children are becoming obese. Firstly, bad eating habits play a pivotal role in the rising prevalence of obesity. It means that children nowadays eat a lot of fast food, junk food like Mac Donald's and have sugary soft drinks. In addition, lifestyle preference is a contributing factor to become overweight in young people. To clarify, children tend to have a sedentary lifestyle, which can cause many health issues. For instance, they play computer games for hours rather than leading an active lifestyle. Therefore, food choices and lifestyle could make children overweight. Consequently, childhood obesity have significant impacts not only on their physical health, but also on their social relationships. It can cause certain health problems such as heart diseases and stroke. Moreover, obesity in children may cause social problems meaning that obese children are more likely to have low self-esteem, which may impact on other aspects of their lives, such as the development of friendships and competency at school. To improve this situation, children should eat healthier foods, limit having fast food or sugary products instead increase consumption of fruit and vegetables. Besides, children could benefit from having an active lifestyle and engaging in regular physical exercise or playing a sport. In conclusion, fatness in young children is a serious issue, which effects their health and relationships in the society. However, if they change their diet and eat healthily and do regular exercise, they will overcome obesity.