child labour is hazardous

The problem of child labour is quite rampant in all parts of India. In spite of the enforcement of many anti-child labour laws, the problem still exists. The adverse effects of this problem affect the growth, development, and progress of our nation. Not only millions of children below the age of 14 are working in factories, shops, glass-blowing industry, workshops, etc, they are forced to work in the most unhygienic work conditions. According to Census data, there are over 82 lakh child labourers (aged between 5 – 14 years) in India. Our country needs more and more skilled manpower to achieve the objectives of growth, development and advancement. With such a huge number of children employed in menial jobs, without education, how can India achieve her goals? The Indian Government must take some proactive measures to stop this problem of child labour and must ensure education for them. Undoubtedly there are many laws against child labour, however their poor implementation is responsible for the continuation of the problem. The government must work harder and involve the people and Non-Profit Organizations to curb the problem in the country. There is only one measure that can check this social evil; and that measure is strictness. Unless the Government deals with the offenders with the iron hand, this problem is going to spoil the lives of millions of children.