Chevalier memoir

While the passage claims that the memoir by Chevalier is considered inaccurate in many ways by the critics, the speaker states that the memoir is in fact pretty accurate and provides evidences for the same. First, it is a well known fact that Chevalier had many assets. And to spend money for the parties and gambling, Chevalier had to sell his assets. But he couldn't get the money in time and so had to borrow money from the merchants. So the speaker states that Chevalier borrowed money does not imply that he was poor contrary to what has been stated in the passage. Second, Chevalier used to have long conversations with Voltaire every night and took notes of the conversations on daily basis. While writing the memoir, Chevalier used to go through the notes. Everybody knows that Chevalier used to refer notes and journals while writing the memoir. This is in contradiction to what has been suggested in the passage that Chevalier would not remember the conversations accurately to write them in the memoir which was written long after these conversations took place. Finally, the passage states that Chevalier escaped from the prison by making a hole in the roof with a small metal piece is a lie and claims that he got out of prison by bribing the prison jailers. However, the speaker argues that, in contrast, there are other prisoners as well who had politically influential friends. But they could not find their way to freedom with their friends. Moreover, old Venician documents show that the prison in which Chevalier was prisoned needed a repair to the roof. These evidence strongly suggest that Chevalier had escaped through the roof.