cheatgrass benefits and disadvantages

Both the reading and writing discuss about an invasive species of grass that is cheat grass. While the reading suggests some solutions to the invasion of cheat grass, the writer disagrees to the solutions. The reading claims that cheat grass are found in Europe and Asia and are invasive type of grass, that invades other plants causing severe damage to animal habitats and scenic areas. Few solutions have been proposed by the ecologists. However, the listening insists that the solutions are inefficient to control cheat grass. Secondly, the reading asserts that cattles can be encouraged to feed on cheat grass. By this way, cheat grass will be reduced and this would create enough space for native grass to grow and flourish. on contrary, the listening argues that this invasive kind of grass is not preferred by grazers; Cattles prefer eating native grass and this will result in decrease amount of less invasive grass. Thirdly, the reading states another option to lower than cheat grass which is by burning them. This type burns easily and will create enough area for native grass to grow. Another option the writer suggested is to introduce fungal parasites, as there is a kind of parasite which inhibits the production of cheat grass and by reducing there could be a fall in amount of cheat grass. In contrast, the listening points out that setting fire to the cheat grass may not be effective to the seeds of the grass which are underground and fire will only destroy the grass which are above the soil. Furthermore, the parasites which were suggested to introduce to the invasive grass are known to have lived together for thousands of years. This co-living has increased the resistance of the grass to the fungal parasites. Therefore, introducing them is not an effective idea.