changes in the way family and friends communicate

The advent of social media has had a significant impact on how people interact with each other. More than ever, it is far more convenient to keep in touch with friends and relatives these days. Although it is likely to bear some inevitable downsides towards interpersonal communication, I firmly believe this appearance has been a positive development. Looking back to ten or twenty years ago, families would bond over face-to-face conversations when family members were done with their day’s work and were at home, unwinding, or friends would expect weekends to gather in a café or club to chat. These days they barely spend time talking in person in a familiar environment. Instead, they are prone to engrossing in their social media networking accounts, chatting and sharing with their own social circle. Following, reacting to posts online and responding to friends seems to have become more vital than even saying hello to one another or talking about small things of their daily life. The reason for such tremendous change is likely to be due to the appeals of social media. In conclusion, though social media has been attributed to several undesirable effects on how family members and friends interact with each other, it has offered them more conveniences and interests.