challenges your country will face in the next decade

With urbanization comes a lot of social and environmental challenges. In this essay, I will discuss three important challenges India is predicted to face in the next decade, and possible steps to minimise the negative impact. Expansion of cities has resulted in depletion of our country's rich biodiversity. Take the case of the city of Bangalore, where trees are being cut exponentially to make room for the metro expansion project. The loss of forest cover will drastically affect the micro-climate of the city and increase air pollution levels, which is a major health hazard. With the continuous rise in population, a demand-supply problem of natural resources is emerging. Water shortage is likely to be the most dangerous problem of the next decade with experts predicting a complete depletion of fresh water resources within the next couple of years in many major cities. The COVID-19 pandemic has changed the face of education of the future. Both primary and higher level education are now conducted remotely, limiting accesiblity of education to sections of the society that cannot afford electronic gadgets. As such, the strength of our human capital is diminishing. Overcoming these problems is possible only if the government recognises the need to make it a top priority. Taking into account citizens and environmentalists views before cutting down trees is important. The local community is often against forest clearing, but their voices are ignored. Setting up water recycling and rainwater harvesting plants are the need of the hour. Access to primary education is a fundamental right, and the government must take initiaves to provide the necessary gadgets and facilities to students. In conclusion, problems of the next decade are dangerous enough to destroy the planet and careful planning by the government with co-operation from citizens is the only hope for survival.