essay for price ceilings and price floor

Controversy sometimes surrounds the prices and quantities established by demand and supply, especially for products that are considered necessities. In some cases, discontent over prices turns into public pressure on politicians, who may then pass legislation to prevent a certain price from climbing “too high” or falling “too low”. Economists can predict how people and firms will react to laws that control price by using the demand and supply model—by the end of this article, you'll be able to make these predictions as well! Price ceilings Laws enacted by the government to regulate prices are called price controls. Price controls come in two flavors. A price ceiling keeps a price from rising above a certain level—the “ceiling”. A price floor keeps a price from falling below a certain level—the “floor”. We can use the demand and supply framework to understand price ceilings. In many markets for goods and services, demanders outnumber suppliers. Consumers, who are also potential voters, sometimes unite to convince the government to hold down a certain price. For example, when rents begin to rise rapidly in a city—perhaps due to rising incomes or a change in tastes—renters may press political leaders to pass rent control laws, a price ceiling that usually works by stating that rents can be raised by only a certain maximum percentage each year.