certain individuals ascertain that there are benefits to communities by doing research with microbes like bacteria or viruses. Others, however, feel that this is harmful and must be avoided. Express your thoughts on both sides and give your own perspective. Use your own life references to support your arguments.

Over the past century, humanity has spent billions of dollars researching viruses and bacteria. In hospitals, universities, and military installations around the world, people have set up laboratories and use special equipment to capture, cultivate and identify microbes. This research has a major impact on the lives of all people. Many individuals feel that research on bacteria and viruses should be banned as it is dangerous to human life; however, others, including myself, believe that such experiments increase longevity and improve health. A number of advocates against the experimentation of bacteria and viruses believe that this endeavor causes more suffering and death than benefits for humanity. Certain types of viruses and bacteria can make people extremely ill and cause eventual death. As well, they spread exponentially through the population and can be very difficult to manage. Furthermore, humans tend to conduct research on microbes to create biological weapons which could lead to the extinction of humanity. I hear, read and see that nowadays, the infamous coronavirus is spreading across the globe and infecting millions of people, as well as killing 2% of those infected. Many experts believe that this is a man-made virus, but nobody seems to know the way to stop this pathogen. Nevertheless, these incidents cannot be a reason for stopping medical research on microbes. Arguably, the wealth of knowledge and advancement in the medical field, specifically with the understanding of microbiology, has enabled humans to not only add decades onto their life spans but also live with fewer illnesses. When experiments are done carefully and ethically, the medical scientist is able to develop vaccines and antibiotics which save the lives of millions of people every day. There are many antibiotics and vaccines available for illnesses like malaria, pneumonia, meningitis and the common flu to name just a few. These pathogens, before researching microbes, claimed the lives of many more people in the past. For these exact reasons, I am strongly in favor of continuing experiments on bacteria and viruses. In conclusion, the experimentation of pathogens can be detrimental and beneficial for society. Either way, many experts, myself as well, believe that the overall result of such experiments is positive and must be pursued. In the end, humanity has to see the bigger picture and not get scared by “momentary” circumstances.