Cellphone BanThe university has decided to ban all cellphone use in lecture halls, labs, seminars, and classrooms effective immediately. We have received numerous complaints from students who find ring tones and personal conversations distracting and anno

In this day and age, it is irrefutable to say that childhood obesity has become a global issue nowadays. Every 1 out 5 children is found to be overweight in our western countries. This issue needs to be attended as soon as possible before it causes any further damage to our young generation. There are numerous reasons for the aforementioned disturbing trend. First and foremost, due to advancements in the field of internet and technology, our youngsters tend to spend more time in indoor activities like playing video games, watching television and social media. This has substantially reduced their physical activities, which consequently makes them lethargic and aids in gaining weight. Moreover, unhealthy eating habits like burgers, pizza and fried food products have also played their crucial part in making our teenagers obese. As a result, we now see a steep rise in the number of overweight children. This issue has resulted in children getting chronic diseases like diabetes and high cholesterol. In addition, due to the lethargic attitude of our kids, our youngsters are also getting into depression, which hampers their studies as well as their mental health. These ill-effects of obesity can considerably harm the growth of society as teenagers are the future of our generation. I am sanguine, the government would take steps to curtail this dangerous trend. People should also take cognizance of this fact and further, they should aware their children to stay away from junk foods and motivate them to do more physical activities. I am sure parents, especially from western countries, would take responsibility for their kids and we will definitely get rid of the obesity problem.