CCTV cameras are a common sight in town centers, on public transport and outside many businesses. They not only help identify and apprehend criminals but also serve as a crime deterrent. However, some people believe that they are intrusive and constitute a breach of privacy.

Nowadays CCTV cameras are part and parcel of everyday life. They are ubiquitous in many city centers for the purpose of protecting public safety and acting as a deterrent against crime. Despite this, critics argue that cameras installed in public areas are an infringement of personal privacy and should be removed. Since the introduction of CCTV in public places, there has always been an element of controversy over issues of personal privacy, as some people are uncomfortable with the idea that their every move is being recorded. Some argue that this creates a sense of social anxiety and a feeling of insecurity. Of an even greater concern is what happens to the data is stored, with questions asked about where the data is stored, who might have access to it, and what procedures CCTV companies have in place to ensure data protection. On the other hand, CCTV serves a very important function in safeguarding the public, as crimes can be caught on camera and consequently the perpetrator brought to justice. Indeed, CCTV footage acts as indisputable evidence in court: f instance, its use on motorways has resulted in increasing numbers of motorists who violate traffic regulations being caught. The presence of CCTV also has the added benefit of helping people to feel safe and secure when going about their daily business. This is especially the case in many secluded areas, such as car parks, or at night when people feel more vulnerable and crime is statistically more common. To sum up, given the high levels of criminality in many cities and the benefits of CCTV on public safety, I am on the opinion that the advantages of the cameras outweigh the disadvantages. Surely, it is worth sacrificing some degree of our personal privacy in order to ensure a sense of safety and security.