Causes of students' cheating

Nowadays, the problem of cheating in exam is not a new problem in Vietnam and the other countries. In this essay, I will discuss some causes of students' cheating as following. Firstly, one of the major reasons that make students cheat in exams is the over-emphasis that has been placed on passing exams or have a good mark. Apparently, more effort has been directed towards passing of tests than learning due to the high competition in the employment markets. For instance, studies on cheating in examination shown that learners cheated to get better grades that would assist them to be eligible for future job markets. A second reason which I could mention is that causes cheating in exams is lack of effort from the students. According to recent study of educationists, students are willing to spend much time in playing online games, social networking or even sleeping then doing their study or reading books. In the consequence, they were unable to keep up with what have been taught during class and results in cheating when exams. In some cases, undergraduates cheat because they are not confident of their ability in academics and fear of societal pressure. Avoiding ridicule in case of failure students cheat whenever they have the lack of adequate preparations for test. Furthermore, parents always mount too much pressure on students to get good grades for having a job. Teachers assign too much homework with the desire to improve students' skills that students cannot complete before class. As a result, students will cheat to satisfy the strict demands of their families and teachers. In conclusion, cheating in examination is a global issue. Educators should help students realize that learning should be done for the sake of learning, not for good grades or other external reasons.