causes and solutions of traffic congestion

Long-hour commutes and maddening delays have been a shared problem among cities around the world. There are a number of reasons for this phenomenon, some of which will be addressed in this essay with several viable solutions suggested. Generally, the causes of traffic congestion are twofold: the heavy traffic during rush hour and the imbalance between city population and the roadways provided. Before and after office hours, a vast array of people pour into the streets, which swiftly attribute to traffic slowdown. Moreover, it can be seen that the city population shows no sign of decreasing, which means more people, fewer roadways. This imbalance between supply and demand has led to traffic delays. Even though traffic congestion is unavoidable, there are several strategies to reduce the likelihood of being stuck in these delays. The proposal that the government should encourage the public transportation use of city dwellers is advanced as a possible solution. In order to draw the public’s attention to public transport, the authorities should seriously allocate more funds for the upgrade and maintenance of public transport and its service. A hygienic and punctual bus possibly attracts a considerable number of commuters to use the service, as a result, decrease the mass of vehicles on the street. Another solution to this is for the government to construct more boulevards and flyovers, providing a variety of routes for drivers to choose from as well as reducing the volume of traffic at each roadway of the city. To conclude, the problem, caused by the massive number of vehicles entering roadways during rush hours and the lack of adequate avenues available for the growing population, can be partly alleviated by upgrading the transport infrastructure and enhancing the transport service.