causes and effects of climate change

In contemporary times, climate change, also known as global warming, is a worldwide environmental crisis. It is scientifically believed that climate transformation has disproportionately affected not only developing countries but also high-income countries. The purpose of this essay is to analyse the main causes of climate change and its devastating effects. It is clear that climate change can be caused by a number of factors. First of all, there is a causual link between global warming and intensive farming. There is evidence to demonstrate that industrial logging and illegal land exploitation for domestic livestock cultivation, crop plantations, construction or commercial agriculture have exerted an enormous threat to ecological system. Forests are strongly believed to act like a sponge absorbing a massive amount of CO2; however, when they are incinerated and left to decay, they discharge CO2 back into the atmosphere. Besides, toxic chemical substances, such as hazardous pesticides, fertilizers and insecticides, can be the main driver behind serious land degredation and desertification, which inevitably bring about dire climate change. More importantly, global warming can be directly attributable to burning of fossil fuels. Overconsumption of fossil fuels, including the mining of coal, oil and natural gas and the overabuse of these resources in electrical power plants, is widely accepted to be responsible for the significant increase in the concentration of CO2 in the atmosphere. In addition, once greenhouse gases emitted by burning of fossil fuels enter the atmosphere, they trap heat, causing the dramatic rise in average global temperatures. It is evident that climate change can have a wide range of damaging effects. First and foremost, global warming is generally accepted to have a ripple effect on many of Earth’s climatic processes. Climate transformation is closely connected to a greater likelihood of ecological catastrophies, including searing heat, intense rainfalls, tremendous storms, progressively common droughts, increasingly prevalent hurricanes… These weather hazards have upset the food chain, severely interfered with agricutural production, and badly struck transportation, infrastructure, service and facilities. In addition to extreme weather, there is a strong association between climate change and loss of biodiversity. Evidence from paleoclimate studies shows that environmental cataclysms turn a warm, mild climate to an unhabitable one, which aggravates the negative effects of fragmented habitats on species abundance and diversity and results in mass displacement, population crash and critical food scarcity. For example, if globla warming continues unabated, a growing number of polar bears might face potential extinction because of ice thawing. In conclusion, climate change can be resulted from factory farming and overexploitation of fossil fuels. It is considered as the major driver behind changing weather patterns and shrinking habitats.