causes and effect of global warming

For the past few decades, we have observed a major shift in the climatic conditions of planet Earth. Drift in the environmental system is largely due to global warming which has become an acute problem. This essay will analyze the causes of global warming and its effects. Firstly, the most important cause of global warming is the greenhouse effect. These days our lives have become dependent on non-renewable resources, which when used to generate greenhouse gases. For example, petrol is the most consumed fuel in vehicles, which generates CO2 as a by-product. These greenhouse gases degenerate the ozone layer in the atmosphere, which protects the earth from the UV rays of the sun. Hence, the temperatures are rising across the globe. Deforestation is another major reason for it. Trees consume CO2 and generate oxygen. As the number of trees is decreasing, the consumption of CO2 decreases, and thus, there is a rise in the temperatures. Secondly, global warming has adverse consequences on the surrounding. One of the prominent effects is extreme weather, the average temperature of the earth has changed over the past few years. The hot places have become hotter and vice versa. For instance, it was recorded in 2016 that the temperature of the Sahara desert has risen to 1. 75 degrees. Another disastrous impact of global warming is glacier retreat. The glaciers are melting due to which the levels of sea are rising. This is considered to be the prime reason for frequent floods and Tsunamis. For instance, mountain range of Mount Everest is melting, which rate is expected to rise in the future. Hence, these are the major effects of global climate change. In conclusion, global warming is increasing environmental problems at an alarming rate. The government and all the individuals should join hands to reduce this eminent threat and save the earth and future generations.