Cause and effect of pollution.

There are several reasons resulting in environmental pollution. To begin with, one of the most prominent causes is the exhaust fumes from cars and factories, containing dangerous gases such as carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, or nitrogen oxides, . . . Instead of going by public transports, many residents are more likely to use personal vehicles because they are time-saving and convenient, consequently, emissions of harmful gases have been increasing, leading to air pollution. To add that, pollution is also the result of dumping directly toxic chemical wastes into the sea or ocean without being treated. This poisons our water systems, our food supplies and kills the environment of sea creatures. In addition, litters have a huge impact on our ecosystems, as it is believed that some pollutants may be released into the ground when people throw rubbish. For example, when having been dumped into the land, plastic bags start to break down into toxic chemicals that contaminate the soil and underground water. Moreover, these serious issues have led to adverse effects on humans, as well as animals. Being exposed to polluted air, people may have a higher risk of respiratory diseases like breathing problems, lung cancer, or coughing, . . . The biggest consequence of water pollution is the death of aquatic life and cholera outbreak which occurs when people drink contaminated water and eat unsafe food.