Cars damage the environment but their produ and use continue to increase. Why is this case? Hoe can this be controlled?

Aknowledgement of cars' environmental harm does not seem to have any effect on their production and use as car manufacture along with its use is on the rise. The main reason behind this situation seems to be high demand for them and the number of car use can be controlled by government reforms in the field. One of the underlying reasons for accelerated car manufacture and its use is mainly high demand for cars. This demand itself may be pushed up by two reasons. Firstly, the absence of comfy alternative of travelling except cars drive people towards cars. Even though there are some sets of public transport such as busses, subway and trains, they may not be comfortable enough to reach one's destination as the number of routes in public transport is limited and in majority of the cities they can be crowded or slow which discourages people to use them and instead encourages to buy their own car. Secondly, it is a fact that global population has been on the constant rise for the last decade and this means that car industry should increase car production to cater the needs of this population. In my opinion, increased number of cars in use can be regulated by government in several ways. For example, imposing taxes on cars produced and bought can hold people back purchasing them in some respect. For instance, in Uzbekistan on average a car costs 6000 US dollars and this sum of money can be earned in two years with an average salary which means car is relatively expensive in Uzbekistan. Thus, there one can observe relatively low number of cars, at least, less than other countries such as Russia where people can buy one within 6 month with middle earning ability. Secondly, it seems to me obvious that improved public transport system is a key to keep the balanced number of cars. If governments are able to create conditions that are available in cars such as fast speed, acces to as many destinations as cars have and enough personal space, I think, majority of people will definetely choose public transport over cars. And the number of the cars on the road decreases as well, which, in its turn, reduces car production. In conclusion, despite the fact that cars have negative effect consequences on the nature, bumanity continue to make use of them. However, buy lowering the demand for car use with government intervention, it is possible to control tbe car usage and its produce.