Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

During the past 30 years, the evolution of technology and the facility to buy a vehicle have increased the number of car owner. However, the question we should ask is whether this expansion has a consequence on the traffic jam. At a time when where restricted traffic areas in the city are multiplying, the individual automobile continues to seduce. It’s a reality linked to the fact that today, people do not only have only a car in each family but well two or more. This is due to the rise of the personal requirement in particular working or others. Moreover, having his own car could be a synonym of freedom, especially for young people. However, the growth of cars moving towards the cities has definitely a consequence of the air pollution. It’s a subject that we couldn’t afford in these days and it’s the most negative aspects of the traffic jams. Another contributing fact is the birth of these new “city cars”. Economical and practical, they have a real impact on the transport and pollution today. We can associate the growth of the selling in these cars by the development in technology that makes these cars available for quite anyone. As a result, public authorities are struggling to find alternatives to the car in a way to discourage people from taking their car or at least reducing its use. In some countries, It is common that public transports are free for the over 65. The retired people should have this opportunity to be able to move freely as they do not have any more work restrictions. As the population gets older, it’s an advantage to take into consideration. For the other age band, the price of public transport should be at a reasonable price available for everyone. Furthermore, regular schedules and frequency of the bus races or trains should be taken in consideration. On balance, it’s true that being owner of a car has many advantages and a thought to the public transport may be done. However, we hope the technology will do its parts by reducing the CO2 emission in the future. It’s on its way.