Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, there is a staggering number of people owning cars which has made many cities centres of traffic congestion. In my opinion, although car production has become so popular that almost everyone owns a car which leads to enormous traffic jams, there are some possible solutions that governments can take. To begin with, there are some factors contributing to the rapidly increasing number of cars in the cities. Firstly, now there are a lot of car manufacturers in almost every city because of high demand. In other words, the desire to move and get to the destination faster has greatly increased which made car production a highly profitable business. Secondly, in order to sell more cars and be more successful, a significant number of car producers often make their cars’ prices low. This, undoubtedly, leads to the fact that more people would be able to afford a car, making their cities the hotspots of traffic congestion. Thus, many people now favour having a car which is cheap and fast, resulting in relentless traffic jams in cities. However, even though the above-mentioned reasons can be true, there are some measures that governments might take to decrease the number of cars in cities. One possible solution can be to increase car prices as well as introduce taxes for owning cars. Not all people would be able to afford both cars and taxes at the same time and, therefore, there would be less traffic jams in streets. Another remedy for tackling the problem of excessive traffic congestion might be to encourage people to walk and use bicycles more. This can be done by introducing a reward for walking for a certain distance or commuting by bicycles. As a result, the desire for cars would be considerably decreased as well as traffic jams. In conclusion, while car ownership might be becoming increasingly popular for fast transporting and financial needs, I think the government can overcome the problem of excessive traffic jams in cities by discouraging people from using cars.