Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

There has been a surge in the purchase of personal vehicles in the past three decades. This phenomenon is caused by a reduction in the price of cars, and the consequence is that we are now faced with traffic jams on the roads of our major cities everyday. To solve this problem, government should dissuade people from using their cars and a number of measures can be used to achieve this purpose. One way to discourage people from the use personal motors is to increase the number of buses in the public transportation network. The number of vehicles in use today are not enough, which is why so many passengers are stranded on their way to work. Forcing people to stop using their cars without addressing this problem will mean more chaos. However, government can assure the public that they won' t be stranded if they decide to use public transport by providing extra buses to cater for all commuters. Even with more buses, most people will shun public transports due to it high cost. Currently, it is cheaper to go to work with personal cars and most people question why they need to join the public buses with the current price of tickets. However, if the ticket prices are reduced considerably, those who use their cars will see reasons to park them and join public transport. Another way to demoralize people from the use of their cars is by making it very expensive to run personal cars. In Lagos state for example, this was achieved through the introduction of toll gates and fees. Every automobile on the road was meant to pay a certain amount before they are allowed through the gates. Most individuals found it very expensive and stopped using their cars. In conclusion, for every, filled bus, we have taken away twenty to thirty personal cars away from our roads. There is no doubt that as more and more people are encouraged to use the public transport, our roads will become freer from long queues of stationary vehicles.