Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In past point, people were used to go to another village or town in bullock cart or similar vehicles as they don't have any facilities of vehicles in most towns and villages. On the other hand, today's picture is totally different, where on the road many cars can be seen which is due to its availability to everyone in very affordable prices. Due to increases in average income level and various options available to own the ride as per your budget availability, everyone is able to buy the motor. Not only they are affordable but also provides higher safety on roads and due to the advancement of technology nowadays most of cars provides very good millage, this is the cause for most of the families have their personal vehicle and using it to roam inside the city as well as in between the cities. As a result, big increment in numbers of cars over a very limited life, today, many places are like a conjunction of vehicles. Major changes in the development of such lifestyle can be observed in the last 3 decades, as a result, in the current generation, everyone has their personal four-wheeler and used daily for short or long route travelling. In majority public holidays and vacations most of civilians prefer to travel into metro cities or tourist places which cause blockage on roads during peak hours. Growth of number of cars and infrastructure development in cities is not linear, to add at this point most of the measurement of a number of roads, width of roads and traffic-jam prevention systems like traffic-littles' are same as compared to the past few years. So these are the reasons for increment in ownership of cars in the past few years and as a result, most of cities are suffering with the problem of traffic jam. So, I completely agree with the statement given about issues of blocked roads due to big numbers of personal vehicles. To find the cure of such situation, not only government but individuals have to think about solution of such problems. Government can impose very high tax on fuel and rates of vehicles, but people can purchase slightly cheaper model compare to what they are planning to buy, so this is not the most effective way to control it. Instead of that by providing very cheap, accurate in space and more frequent public transport, government can attract civics to avoid personal vehicle in travelling as far as possible. To make habit for the use of such state services, they can offer free travelling on weekends in the cities area and by advertisements and posters, they can try to create awareness about the future issues, if the numbers of the automobile on the road can not be reduced. If we are not able to solve such issues in very near future, it will create a very negative effect on peoples mind as they pass through stress if due to conjunction of cars they can't reach in point to their destination along with that we may also waste most valuable natural resources like fuels and oxygen so the government should take quick and smart measures to discourage people from using their cars.