Candidates’ private information, namely their interests, marriage condition and personal hobbies, is required by employers.

Candidates’ private information, namely their interests, marriage condition and personal hobbies, is required by employers. Some believe that this data could be relative and valuable while others have a contrast opinion. In my opinion, personal information is useful for evaluating candidates. A good reason to check personal information in an interview is that this information illustrates people’s personality and verify if they are suitable to work in a team. Moreover, senior managers are able to assign tasks more easily with the knowledge of employees’s personality. Some others believe it is pointless to ask people for personal information because some candidates lie about their hobbies and hardly take these questions seriously. It is difficult for the employer to distinguish if the candidates is telling the truth or just using common answers for a good impression. In my opinion, doing a background check for personal information is valuable. For example, employers can make an arrangement for maternity leaves in advance if they already know the new employees’ marriage condition. Also, personal information provides an overall description of the candidates. Finally, employees with similar hobbies and personality can cooperate with each other and improve working efficiency. In conclusion, I believe that personal information is essential in a job interview as it reflects candidates’ personality and makes contribution to a full evaluation.