"Can sentences passed by judges not only punish criminals but rehabilitate them and integrate into community? "

I strongly believe that sentences passed by judges not only punish criminals but rehabilitate them and integrate them into the community. People committed crimes are usually more vulnerable to do it due to the lack of education, being abused, having mental issues, living in poor conditions, having low social responsibility, and many other circumstances. Though they are criminals and needed to be punished they stay people and have the right to be integrated into the community. The easiest way to do it is through imprisonment. The first idea is that prisons have several major purposes. The primary aim is that criminals achieve punishment. Depriving them of their freedom is a way of making them pay a debt to society for their crimes. However, criminals are also removed from society so that they can no longer harm innocent people. Moreover, it prevents them from future crimes. It is hoped that prisons provide warnings to people thinking about committing crimes and that the possibility of going to prison will discourage people from breaking the law. Furthermore, the prison has a rehabilitation function add it implies changing criminals into law-abiding citizens and may include providing educational courses in prison, teaching job skills, and offering counseling with a psychologist or social worker. So the second idea is that criminals can be given such possibilities that were not available for them in normal life. Having an education in prison has a positive impact. More than half of people are rearrested in the first year after release. But for those prisoners who participate in prison education programs, it is unlikely. It gives a person the chance to feel human again, to feel that they are not worse than others and that have the right to normal life. When people have a chance to see what is possible for their future, then hope can turn even the darkest night into something bright and productive. The last but not least, people in prison can participate in different social programs, the main goal of which is to help such people find their place in society. Moreover, criminals have the opportunity to be given psychological help. That’s can help them to work on traumas and put into order their lives. Improving the mental health of inmates can give them the realization of how to live after and even while imprisoned. To sum up, everything that has been stated, the sentence for imprisoning has different functions and one of them is rehabilitation function through giving opportunities to receive education and psychological help.