Can personality change over time?

There is an opinion that a person's personality cannot change. I think it all depends on the person, especially the age. Firstly, children and teenagers are just forming a personality, so they are very susceptible to various factors. At the same time, adults already have their own constant opinions, views on life and certain qualities. Therefore, it is more difficult to change an adult personality. Secondly, there are different types of people, their characters. Some are easier to influence and change than others. Especially, it seems to me, shock situations affect a person. For example, the death of a loved one or unexpected health problems. However, there are also positive cases: the birth of a child or the achievement of success in something. Much depends on the society in which the individual finds himself. If everything is calm around, then the personality will remain the still. Also, many people try to change for someone, and they succeed. But this is a short-term result. Over time, a person will show what he tried to hide. In conclusion, our personality depends on both an external factor and an internal one. Of course, both affect who we are. New traits can be caused mainly by various unexpected life situations.