Can atmospheric pollution cause skin to age prematurely?

The increase in air pollution over time has had significant effects on human skin. One of the biggest factors that damage the skin after UV radiation is air pollution. Approximately 80% of skin aging are influenced by environmental factors such as sunlight and air pollution, and 20% are linked to aging and genetic factors. Polluted air contains hydrocarbon particles, sulfur and suspended particles that irritate the respiratory mucosa and skin, and because the scalp, face and hands are in direct contact with the air, they are more damaged than other parts of the body. Air pollution contains microscopic contaminants, called polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), that contribute to the generation of reactive oxygen (SAR) species or free radicals. These remove lipid barriers from the skin, helping to retain moisture and prevent dirt and other impurities. A compromised skin barrier can increase skin sensitivity, discomfort and early signs of skin aging, particularly pigmentation problems. Small atmospheric pollution to penetrate the skin, they can speed up brown blotches, fine lines and wrinkles. To prevent skin damage caused by air pollution, the skin needs to be cleansed. In addition, use toners and lubricants with anti-pollution capability. Even though you can't affect outdoor conditions, you can take steps to improve indoor air quality, reduce environmental triggers, and protect your skin's natural defenses. Using a home-based air quality monitor can help you diagnose the source of skin symptoms and take steps to reduce flare-ups. To conclude, take care of your skin, pollution weakens your skin. Antioxidants, as well as peptides and vitamins, help to strengthen the skin and neutralize major skin aging triggers.