can an electronic red packet really convey the same warmth

Electronic payments are becoming more and more popular in Hong Kong, and even used in traditional wet markets, as most consumers find it convenient. After 20 years,  Octopus no longer has a monopoly, with rivals like Alipay and ApplePay competing for a share of the pie. While technology certainly improves our quality of life, traditional money is still important in some areas. For example, can an electronic red packet really convey the same warmth and feeling as a real lai see (or red packets) full of new bank notes? Is giving new notes still a must for lai see? Regardless of what you think of these questions, change is already underway in China.  United Overseas Bank has found that four out of five people in mainland China gave digital lai see this year. Traditional Lunar New Year values have been replaced by new practices in the digital age. For me, and many of my generation, the Lunar New Year is a must for fireworks, great food,  parent and family visits,  New Years greetings,  and lai see gifts.  Celebrating as a family should be a high priority for a family reunion,  but young people are beginning to see it differently,  and the use of electronic bleach is another example of their indifferent attitude towards the Spring Festival and traditional values in general.