By Punishing Murderers With The Death Penalty, Society Is Also Guilty Of Committing Murder

It is accepted by the whole world that a murder is the most heinous crime that can be committed by a person. Hence there are laws made in every part of the world to punish the murderer. While some people argue that a person who has committed a murder should be awarded the death penalty, others insist that the law cannot commit a murder and hence punishing the murderer with a life imprisonment is a better idea. I agree with this statement to a great extent. In my opinion, if the criminal is willing to reform himself, it is better to award life term instead of the capital punishment. Many people believe that the death penalty is the best form of punishment for a murder since it keeps a check on the crime. Many people fear the punishment and are scared to commit these kinds of crimes due to the penalties involved. The death penalty is also useful to send a message to the rest of the world that no matter who you are if you commit a murder you are going to be executed for your actions. This fear is helpful to reduce the homicide in many countries. On the other hand, there are people who believe that if a murderer is killed then the total number of murderers in the world remains the same. Therefore in order to penalize them, life imprisonment seems to be a better option. Firstly, the mental state of the criminal should be assessed before awarding any punishment. If the person is mentally unstable, a second chance should be given to him to rectify the crime that he has committed. Secondly, many people also believe that the execution of the murderer will not bring the victim back to life. So it is not a perfect compensation for the victim’s relatives. In conclusion, people need to accept responsibility for their actions. Punishing murderers with death penalty is one way that the society can help people to realise the consequences of their actions. However, if the criminal repents his action life imprisonment may help him to reform himself and this in turn will benefit the whole society.