Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In our era, digitalization has gained a great acceleration in parallel with the development of technology. Most of the daily life activities, such as shopping, are now possible to conduct without leaving home. Online shopping is becoming more common for a variety of needs. Despite many argue that there are disadvantages of online shopping, in my opinion, advantages are predominant. On the one hand, online shopping has got some drawbacks. Firstly, it is intrinsically unsafe. It is not possible to see the seller as well as the product before paying for it. There are many fraud examples where customers receive a completely different product than ordered, and can not contact with sellers afterwards. Secondly, it is compulsory to share some sensitive personal information along with credit card number in distance shopping. In 2021, Turkey's most popular food ordering website Yemeksepeti announced that hackers broke into 25 million personal accounts and customer data. Hence, the safety of personal information can not be guaranteed. On the other hand, distance shopping brought many advantages to our life. First of all, it saves time, as going out is not necessary. Variety of products can be bought online just by several clicks. In terms of variety, of course, the spectrum is much more diverse, which is another advantage. Thus, shoppers are able to find easily what they need, so that customers and suppliers are met more efficiently and more rapidly. As flow of the money and trade connections increase, economies of countries benefit at a great extent. It is undeniable that all parties involved are satisfied with online shopping. In conclusion, shopping habits are evolving into a more digitalized way. Although there are serious disadvantages of this evolution, they could be manageable when necessary precautions are applied.