Buying a Franchise

The speaker refutes the points made in the passage towards buying a franchise. She uses the findings made in a recent study to counter argue each of the statement made in the passage. Contrary to the statement that there is reliable supply of goods and services in franchise contracts, the speaker says they force them to buy over priced goods and services. To abide by the contract the franchise owners will have to buy the over priced goods and services even though there are cheaper supplies available in market. Talking about advertising the speaker says the parent company only advertises their product and not the franchise partner. There will be several such franchise partners and each franchise owner will have to advertise for themselves to stand strong in the market. Lastly, the passage says franchise business is more secure as it has lesser failure rate. The speaker agrees that franchise could have lesser failure rate than an independent business. She brings in the light the third option for business, that is buying a pre-existing business which has got a much lesser failure rate than the franchise. Hence, franchise is not the most secure business. With all these points the speaker tries to convey that, being a franchise partner with a reputed brand is not a best business possible in terms of supplies, advertising and security.