Both white and black people are corrupted by slavery (and notice this does not read as equally affected by slavery). Please agree or disagree with this claim about the novel and explain what effect the system of slavery has on specific characters. For example, was Rufus or Tom Weylin an evil person or a product of his times? Think of Dana’s observation that “I never realized how easily people could be trained to accept slavery” (101) in answering this question.

Ilaisaane Haunga Dr. Hisatake American Literature 5 May 2021 Our society is still affected by slavery. In the novel “Kindred” it shows the struggles of what black and white people go through. Kindred‌ ‌is‌ ‌a‌ ‌novel‌ ‌that‌ ‌documents‌ ‌a‌ ‌woman, ‌ ‌Dana‌ ‌going‌ ‌back‌ ‌in‌ ‌time‌ ‌to‌ ‌1815‌ ‌where‌ ‌slavery‌ ‌is‌ ‌still‌ ‌in‌ ‌going‌ ‌on. ‌ Dana goes back in time whenever Rufus is in trouble. Dana has to save Rufus because he is Danas ancestor. while she is there she meets many people black and white people. She meets Tom Weylin who is the owner of the slaves and a family of slaves. ‌ As she is back in time she experiences slavery and doesn’t want to accept that black people are letting it happen. Both black and white people are corrupted by slavery because as can be seen in white slave owners Tom and Rufus Weylin, white men are raised to treat black people as property, while black enslaved children are raised to know nothing but accept that their bodies can be sold and controlled. White people growing up during slavery are taught from a young age of what role they have to play as slave owners. As a child when you are raised a certain way it is hard to see whether it is a good or bad thing especially if you learn from your parents. Tom Weylin, Rufus’ father and Rufus proves that. When Dana went back in time for the second time she speaks to Rufus and she “Your mother always call black people n***gers, Rufe? ” “Sure, except when she has company. Why not? ” His innocent questioning confused me. Either he really didn’t know what he was saying, or he had a career waiting in Hollywood. ” (Butler 25). Rufus is very young at this moment saying the word that he said unknowingly shows how normal it is to treat people that way. “The boy already knew more about revenge than I did. What kind of man was he going to grow up into? ” (Butler 26) Dana saying this is basically showing how bad it is. Rufus is so used to being “white”. Black people have grown to accept that they are treated the way they are. “ He took my hand. ” The kids are just imitating what they’ve seen adults doing” he said. “They don’t understand…” They don’t have to understand. Even the games that they are playing are preparing then for the future -and that future will come whether they understand it or not” (Butler 99)Children are taught to just accept the fact that they are enslaved. Their parents have also accepted the fact because they let their children mimic something so sad. “Whos idea do you think it was to sell my babies? ” “oh” She had not mentioned her lost child since the first day either. (Butler 95) Sarah has just learned to live with the fact that her children are gone. SHe wants to fight but she doesn’t because of her “role” as a slave. Tom Weylin and Rufus show the definition of a corrupt society. The SLaves that are enslaved also just accept the fact that they aren’t treated as humans but treated like an object. If black and white people weren’t corrupted then the black people would not just accept the fact that they were treated that way. White people wouldn’t be raised to treat the people that they do.