Bookish Knowledge and Practical Experience

The famous French writer Nicolas Chamfort said: “Knowledge is boundless – human capacity, limited”. Indeed, humans can get knowledge from a variety of sources. Some people tend to gain knowledge from books, while others achieve cognition from the experience in life. To more deeply understand this point, let’s compare and contrast knowledge gained from paperwork and knowledge from real-life based on the following three viewpoints. For a start, knowledge from books provides us the fundamental background for our desired jobs, while experience from reality gives us in-depth knowledge boosting our career. For example, if a student wants to be a construction engineer, he needs to have a construction engineering degree licensed by a university. This is a prerequisite. Later, to have a higher salary and position, he has to gain more practical knowledge from his works. The next viewpoint which indicates the differences between the two types of knowledge is practicability. People easily learn skills by experience rather than just reading some books about it. Obviously, most knowledge people get from books is theoretical, whereas knowledge from reality has applicability to our lives and our work. For instance, reading a book will not help us to master English, but regular communication with foreigners can totally do that. In fact, it is the experience that evaluates the veracity of theories, and it helps to consolidate theories too. The final one, knowledge from real life is steadier than knowledge from books. Something we go through will remain in our mind much better and longer than a matter we study at school. Whereas chemical equations will be easily forgotten right after the exam, a mistake in a report given to our manager will be acutely remembered, and it is very difficult to repeat it one more time.